Since the 4th of July holiday is right around the corner, some of our fire departments will be setting off fireworks displays. State law in Texas requires individuals who assemble, conduct and supervise the setting off of Fireworks 1.3G for public display to have a Pyrotechnic Operator’s License which is $45 initially and $25 for renewal. Fireworks 1.3G are sold by licensed distributors and are larger than the normal fireworks sold at a stand. A state permit is also required for single display ($50) or multiple display ($400). This permit also requires $500,000 general liability coverage.
State law also requires individuals who supervise the setting off of Fireworks 1.4G for public displays of 50 or more people to have a Pyrotechnic Special Effects Operator’s License. Fireworks 1.4G are those sold at fireworks stands to the general public. The Special Effects Operator license is also $45 initially and $25 for renewal. No state permit is required if using Fireworks 1.4G, however, local authority may require a permit. Departments that do not obtain the proper license and/or permit are breaking the law.
If you have any specific questions, please call Susan Light at the Texas Department of Insurance at 512-305-7932.
VFIS of Texas NEWS
Here you will find helpful information regarding firefighters, ems responders, and updates in insurance policies.